Need Help Building Hi-Performance PC

dkoolit

Distinguished
Nov 3, 2010
I'm currently gathering information for building a new system. I need advice,suggestions and/or recommendations for building a hi-performance pc. I'm an animator/editor and gaming enthusiast, and I don't really have specs to follow, so I'm only using what I think is ok config ofr my system:

CPU = intel core i7 980 or better
motherboard = EVGA x58 or better
RAM = 6-12 Gb not sure what brand is best
Graphics card = nvidia 2x dual sli geforce gtx 480 or better (not sure if radeon is better cuz i'm used to nvidia product)
Hard drive = 1TB no idea what brand is best
Case = full tower with liquid cooling room
cooling system = liquid cooling system(no idea which brand is best)
Audio card = logitech/creative or better

I'm not sure if the parts that I've mention is ok so if you have any suggestions or recommendation I will really appreciate it.

Solution
PhysX only works on nVidia cards. Unless you're interested in playing games with hacked drivers, you cannot run PhysX if there's an ATi card in your system, even if you also have a nVidia card; nVidia says "All or nothing."
The biggest risks of liquid cooling are leaks, and failures of other components that don't (and can't) have water blocks on them; with air cooling, even the CPU cooler contributes to the airflow over nearby components. For a non- or minimally-overclocked system, water cooling is simply unnecessary; you get all risks, but no benefits over air cooling.
For hard drives, I would stick to Seagate, Samsumg, or Western Digital.

proewkster

Distinguished
Nov 3, 2010
Well, I can give you some input, because I'm also building a new machine, and did some research so I can tell you what I've found so far...