Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Advice On Building a "Budget Gaming" PC

Last response: in Systems
November 4, 2010 2:23:17 AM

Hey guys,
This is my first time building a system for myself and I would like to hear your thoughts on it.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Approximate Purchase Date: Within 2 Weeks.

Budget Range: ~$800 to $1000 AUD.

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Mainly Gaming(WoW and SCII Max settings if possible)

Parts Not Required: Keyboard, Mouse, Monitor and Speakers.

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: I'm an Australian so I've been using these 2 sites.
CPL . Parts List
MSY . Parts List

Country of Origin: Australia

Parts Preferences:Not to fussed. Should be reliable though

Overclocking: Maybe (Would be my first time overclocking if i was to. Would like the system's longevity to be relatively long (4years+))

SLI or Crossfire: Most likely not

Monitor Resolution:1920x1080

Additional Comments: The computer will mostly be used for Gaming in particular WoW and SCII. The system should be able to run them both at relatively high settings (if not max :D ) as well as any preceding expansions (Cataclysm/Heart of the Swarm etc) on decent settings. At least 60FPS would be great.

I would like to overclock since reading the threads on this forum; it appears to be extremely beneficial though I am unsure about the downsides to this. I would like to keep my system for roughly 4years (I have heard OCing kills the CPU life but not by how much). It would also be my first time overclocking and so i am unaware of the dangers/risks. I am a risk taker though :p .