Sign in with
Your question

What is the "Bus Speed" Exactly?

Last response: in CPUs
January 30, 2011 7:03:47 PM

Okay, I was just looking at the cpu-z page for my computer. I noticed that under "clocks" there was something called the "Bus Speed". What bus speed is it talking about? It can't be the hyper transport bus, thats all ready listed. I am pretty new to building, so I appreciate your patience. Thanks so much!
Here is a picture of my cpu's CPU-Z
It isn't mine, I just pulled it off Google, but it is the same thing.

More about : bus speed

a b à CPUs
January 30, 2011 7:47:08 PM

TheScorpion: that's a Phenom II, it doesn't have an FSB

McLizard: I believe that's just the base clock. There's no data transfer going on at that speed, it's just a reference clock for the core and possibly the HT bus as well (which is the thing that's listed as 2006.8 MHz just below it).
Related resources
January 30, 2011 7:57:38 PM

200MHz * 16 = 3.2GHz
a b à CPUs
January 30, 2011 7:59:55 PM

TheScorpion said:
200MHz * 16 = 3.2GHz

Yep. It's a reference clock. Which is exactly what I said.

(It's not a front side bus however)
January 30, 2011 8:09:45 PM

sorry about that , i posted it as a general definition
January 30, 2011 8:38:14 PM

That makes enough sense. Why is it called the bus speed though? Also, I have a question about the memory bus, being the bus between the cpu and the ram, ar the northbridge and the ram. Do transfers between those two use the speed of the ram, say 800 mhz if it is 800mhz ram?
a b à CPUs
January 30, 2011 9:33:31 PM

Quote:

The huge difference between the internal clock and the external clock on modern CPUs is one major roadblock to overcome in order to increase the computer performance. Continuing the Pentium 4 3.4 GHz example, it has to reduce its speed by 17x when it has to read data from RAM memory! During this process, it works as if it were a 200 MHz CPU!

Not really...