Sign in with
Your question

Upgrade video card from 8600 gt

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
September 15, 2010 8:34:27 PM

I have an old (around 2 years old) vostro 400 mini tower I got as a present, and I want to upgrade the video card. I opened it up and I have a GF 8600 GT. I'm not sure about the PSU... recently I upgraded 2GB ram to 4GB. I'm pretty the PC itself didn't cost more than $1000. Besides that I'm not entirely sure, sorry I'm just a beginner when it comes to this.

I have my eyes on the GF 9800 GTX, is it a good choice? I'm not looking for the newest card, just a decent upgrade from to 8600 gt.
a c 1402 U Graphics card
September 15, 2010 8:43:58 PM

9800GT, GTX, GTX+ and GTS250 are all a good upgrade from 8600GT. What you have to make sure is that you have a PSU that has min 24 amps on the combined +12 volt rails
Std PSU in Vostro 400 is 300 amps which is to low for those cards but it will accept a normal ATX PSU like this one http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...
m
l
September 15, 2010 8:54:53 PM

I think you need to check if the card will fit just as importantly. Those cases for dells, and hp's etc. can be pretty small and not made to be upgraded. Also, the 9xxx series tends to be longer than the 8xxx series and even those that came after it. I don't recommend you upgrade to one of those cards based on price, either, because the newer cards are out now and the 9xxx hasn't dropped enough imo to justify buying what is already aging technology.

See if a GTX 450 can fit in your case, and I would imagine that it uses less energy than a 9800 (which I have and can tell you it's huge and uses lots of energy).
m
l
Related resources
a c 1402 U Graphics card
September 15, 2010 8:58:22 PM

It is a ATX Mini Tower and one of the Dell upgrade options was 8800GT=9800GT (with a bigger PSU though)
m
l
September 15, 2010 9:17:54 PM

Thank you very much for the prompt response, I've never seen such speed!