ptwick

Distinguished
Jan 30, 2011
id like to start off my saying that I am new to these forums
I recently bought an asus gtx 460 1g graphcis card and im worried that its making my q8200 bottleneck (a quad core running at 2.33ghz not overclocked). So is this card making my cpu bottleneck? Im worried that its impairing my graphics cards full potential. Am also scared about overclocking my cpu because its runing at like 50c while just using the internet browser with a stock fan. I dont wanna waste 300 dollars to get a new card that will fit a 775 socket, because id rather get like an i7... And on top of that i have no money to spend... Will over clockig my graphics card via smart doctor help?Any advice? Im a newbie.. Thanks in advance

Overclocking the CPU is the only thing that will help if the CPU is bottlenecking the GPU. The question is, are you happy with the performance? There is nothing dangerous about a bottleneck but you would need an after market cooler for your CPU to overclock it.

Compare benchmarks on your machine to those they get in GTX 460 1G reviews. A Q8200 is decent enough so you should not see too many bottlenecks with that setup. Could you tell us about your build a little bit more. If you are not running 4GB DDR2 800MHz, there is a chance your RAM bottlenecks a little--but it's still probably your CPU or graphics.

If you don't have a good CPU cooler, you must be very careful about overclocking. Go into your bios and check the fan and Health settings. Make sure your CPU fan is currently set high enough (qualitative--highest settings may be too noisy). Make sure you system has shut-down temperatures enabled. Also, make sure that you have an exhaust fan on your case. An intake fan is pretty important too. Depending on your motherboard and what fans you use, these may be adjustable like the CPU fan too.