Sign in with
Your question

Noobie building first system

Last response: in Systems
November 5, 2010 7:36:08 PM

Ok I am thinking about building a new system for my wife for christmas. But I have no experience building computers and thought that this would be a good time to learn.

Primary Uses: Internet, streaming, gaming, video editing, multitasking

Preferred Site For Parts: None

I know that I am missing some items but not sure what else is needed or which one to buy. I have put together a list for two different computers trying to decide which is best for the price. The cost between these two computer is alot and money is always a issue as I am not a bank.

Are these components compatiable?
Are there other components cheaper for the same quality?
Which computer is better for the price?

First computer

CoolerMaster HAF 932 Full-Tower Case
Intel BX80613i7980X Core i7 980X Extreme Edition Processor
EVGA X58 Classified 4-Way SLI Motherboard
XFX HD585XZAFC Radeon HD 5850 Video Card ( 1GB GDDR5, PCI-Express 2.0, CrossFirex Ready, Dual DVI, Display Port, HDMI )
G. SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Model F3-12800CL9D-8GBRL ( x 2)
Not sure what power supply
windows 7

Second computer

CoolerMaster HAF 932 Full-Tower Case
AMD Phenom II X4 905e Quad Core Processor HD905EOCGIBOX
Asus M4A78T-E Motherboard
XFX HD585XZAFC Radeon HD 5850 Video Card ( 1GB GDDR5, PCI-Express 2.0, CrossFirex Ready, Dual DVI, Display Port, HDMI )
G. SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Model F3-12800CL9D-8GBRL ( x 2)
Not sure what power supply
windows 7

Thanks for the help

Larry

More about : noobie building system

November 5, 2010 7:50:02 PM

You're asking what is best for price between the two or want suggestions? You also skipped a few(just about all) questions in the how to ask for build advice. A budget would help give us a place to start.