GrapCard Straining my CPU

nfarnham2001

Distinguished
Sep 13, 2010
Okay, since I started more intensive gaming (well intensive to me), such as Dragon Age Origins, Prototype, Sims 3, etc. I have upgraded my video, from a stock integrated nvidia 6150se to an ATI 5670 radeon, (not sure to go with the 512mb or the 1gig)

My MAIN concern is, will this over work, strain, or even damage my processor? For all the work it will be doing, and being a low grade processor? It is an AMD Athlon 64x2 4400+ 2.3ghz. I considered upgrading to the 5600+ 2.8ghz, but that would be the max that the stock mobo can handle. As I'm a student on a very tight budget, I am pushing it to afford the video card, so the processor upgrade won't be done unless it will help.

Are these bottlenecking/overheating rumors that I have read/heard about true? False? Thanks. I just want to keep my PC working and not blow it up.

There will be no hard to your cpu and don't have a clue ware you heard that or what you thought process is but it is wrong. The only thing you will notice is that it will lag. The 5670 is op like every thing else from ATI atm so just make sure your psu is up to the job even though all the power will be drawn from the slot.

nfarnham2001

Distinguished
Sep 13, 2010
Yah, I have read around on this forum, afterdawn, and some other tech forums, and everyone has told me that it is a fairly low power draw card, about 80 to 90 watts on full load roughly. I have a 250w reliable PSU, but I am thinking about getting a 300 or 350w just in case if need be. I have spent a few months researching, and so far a dozen people or so say it should work, so...im treading carefully