Sign in with
Your question

How to connect to internet

Last response: in Networking
May 19, 2010 3:11:25 AM

hi guys i recently just finished building my computer and this is my first time so i dont know how to connect to the internet at all. my router is downstairs but my computer is upstairs and fortunately i have a very long Ethernet cable, and connected it to my computer. i started up and messed around with the internet network settings. there is only msn or dial up connection now and no choice of a local internet connection, and i have no internet at all ( my comp doesnt recognize my ethernet cable). am i doing something wrong? i only have the blue ethernet cable connected to my computer. thanks

More about : connect internet

May 19, 2010 5:53:06 AM

k3v1n_123 said:
hi guys i recently just finished building my computer and this is my first time so i dont know how to connect to the internet at all. my router is downstairs but my computer is upstairs and fortunately i have a very long Ethernet cable, and connected it to my computer. i started up and messed around with the internet network settings. there is only msn or dial up connection now and no choice of a local internet connection, and i have no internet at all ( my comp doesnt recognize my ethernet cable). am i doing something wrong? i only have the blue ethernet cable connected to my computer. thanks

[#0005ff]I fear that blue cable is meant for the uplink only but check out Control Panel>System>Hardware>Device Manager>Network Adapters and make sure there isn't a yellow mark beside it. If there is, click on Update Driver and see what happens. If there is no mark, check Control Panel>Network Connections to see if one exists for the ethernet. Look in Internet Options>Connections tab and delete those dial-up and MSN entries. Click the LAN button and in the next form, put a tick in "Automatically detect settings".

For an inexpensive alternative to that long cable, you may care to buy a wireless dongle.