Sign in with
Your question

Need Advice on multi-purpose build $1,000

Last response: in Systems
November 8, 2010 1:36:57 AM

Hi, I'd like to start off by saying I have never built a computer before and don't know a lot about choosing parts and wanted some advice.

Approximate Purchase Date: 2-3 weeks (more toward black friday and cyber monday deals)

Budget Range: $1000 more or less

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Internet, video editing, and watching movies, maybe some photo editing

Parts Not Required: I need everything except a SSD(weird I know) I bought one as a shell shocker from Newegg and its in my laptop right now but it will be coming out for this computer, so added on to this bill is a 2.5" drive(whatever is cheap and reliable and around 160GB or more)

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Newegg, Amazon, or wherever but I don't live near a Microcenter

Country of Origin: America

Parts Preferences: AMD or Intel I'm open to whichever, mid tower case(I heard good stuff about the HAF 922 but I like the look of Antec's 900 series), 21"-24" LCD, I don't game so as for a mouse and keyboard I want something comfortable I kinda like ergonomic mice.

Overclocking: Yes but nothing too extreme

SLI or Crossfire: No

Monitor Resolution: 1920x1080

Additional Comments:
I have an HD camcorder and this computer needs to work well with it. Since HD video takes up a lot of room I'd like a terabyte or so of HDD space.
My friend says to get the AMD 955 and that seem like a good route but I've always had Intel so whatever you guys think is best for my needs.
I really want reliability so if I have to pay more then thats fine with me.

I'm willing to buy parts whenever even now if its a good deal(I know Newegg has their Black November thing).

I know I was specific in some areas and maybe I missed some details in others so if you have any questions just ask.
November 8, 2010 2:26:20 AM