Sign in with
Your question

Trouble Installing Intel Stock Pushpin Cooler

Last response: in CPUs
February 2, 2011 9:18:33 AM

Hello,
When installing an i3-540, had some trouble with the stock intel pushpin heatsink/cooler.
Prior to installing, and since it's my first time installing one, i resorted to an online guide that instructed to push the opposing pins 2 by 2. Intel's guide instructed to push the pins 1 by 1 in an X like manor.
I couldn't do it neither way. When pushing 2 pins at once, it wouldn't work and i'd be afraid of breaking the MoBo or CPU. When pushing 1 by 1, the opposing pin would automatically get lodged in at times, or the cooler would get tilted and i'd have to rotate the black notch and pull up the pushed pin (then of course reset the notch).
Finally, after a mix of all possible push order and combination, i think i managed to get the cooler installed and well fixed in its place. All sides are well stable, and it doesn't seem to move a bit.
Problem is however, i had to partially install and remove the cooler several times (around 5). With each trial, some of the compound shipped on the cooler (the 3 stripes) would stick on the top of the CPU. Now according to basic logic, that shouldn't be a problem since the whole point of the compound is to form a heat transfer means between the CPU and heatsink. However, i have read in countless tutorials that each time one removes a heatsink, both it and the top of the CPU should be cleaned with alcohol and thermal paste should be reapplied. Is that necessary in my case? I have not yet powered the system and the CPU/heatsink haven't yet heated up once.
So what should i do? Not very crazy about removing/cleaning/reapplying paste, plus where i live, i can't seem to find any in local computer shops. Most people installing CPUs use toothpaste here!!
Should i go for it and power it up? Or is it a must to redo the whole installation??
Waiting for your opinion.
a c 120 à CPUs
February 2, 2011 10:54:29 AM