Sign in with
Your question

Noob ? about cooling and a new case

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
September 17, 2010 10:28:11 PM

Hey all,

Im a noob at building computers, but I like to play video games. I recently bought SC 2 and was wondering why it kept crashing. I dl'ed HWMonitor and the results shocked me. I now know why it kept crashing...the Video Card Temp was at 117 CELSIUS

Here is a read out of HWMonitor on Idle, the only thing open right now is Firefox:

Hardware monitor Fintek F8000
Voltage 0 1.70 Volts [0xD5] (VIN0)
Voltage 1 1.72 Volts [0xD7] (VIN1)
Voltage 2 1.66 Volts [0xCF] (VIN2)
Temperature 0 52°C (125°F) [0x34] (TMPIN0)
Temperature 2 35°C (94°F) [0x23] (TMPIN2)
Fan 0 1574 RPM [0x3B9] (FANIN0)
Fan 1 1157 RPM [0x511] (FANIN1)
Register space LPC, base address = 0x0290

Hardware monitor ACPI
Temperature 0 35°C (94°F) [0xC0A] (THRM)

Hardware monitor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
Temperature 0 56°C (132°F) [0x2C] (Core #0)
Temperature 1 52°C (125°F) [0x30] (Core #1)
Temperature 3 51°C (123°F) [0x31] (Core #3)
Temperature 2 52°C (125°F) [0x30] (Core #2)

Hardware monitor NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT
Temperature 0 108°C (226°F) (GPU Core)

Hardware monitor WDC WD80 0JD-75MSA3
Temperature 0 40°C (103°F) [0x28] (Assembly)
Temperature 2 40°C (103°F) [0x28] (Air Flow)

This is running way too hot I can imagine based on my limited knowledge/research.

What would be the best course of action from here on out?

My machine is an HP m8120n I bought beginning of 2008.

Ive done research into cases, looking at the Cooling Master HAF 922 and 933, would switching to a case like this help me? Or do I need more?

Currently, my computer is so damn jam packed how they sent it it's ridiculous, and I'm sure that is causing part of the problem.

Would a new case be a good enough fix? Or do I need to go to liquid cooling?

Any help is greatly appreciated, help a noob out!!

More about : noob cooling case

a b U Graphics card
September 18, 2010 12:33:35 AM