Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Need feedback on a new system

Last response: in Systems
November 8, 2010 9:46:34 PM

I am new to building system at home. I do have a Blue Ray Burner and Radeon HD 5530 video card.

The following components I chose from newegg because of combo discount. The purpose of the new pc is blue ray video editing, and high end computing. I will really appreciate any feedback before I order these components from newegg for $1204.96. Please recommend alternate components if you think will be better. By the way, I do have a midtower case with 380W PSU. Will that work with i7 CPU or I need to buy this 800W PSU?

COMBO

1 ASUS SABERTOOTH 55i ATX Intel Motherboard Item #: N82E16813131601
Thermaltake TR-800P 800W Power Supply Item #: N82E16817153130
OCZ Agility 2 OCZSSD2-2AGTE60G 2.5" MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) Item #: N82E16820227542
Intel Core i7-870 2.93GHz LGA 1156 95W Quad-Core Processor Item #: N82E16819115213
OCZ Reaper HPC Edition 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Low Voltage Desktop Memory Item #: N82E16820227559
Thermaltake Armor A90 Black Gaming Mid-Tower Chassis Case Item #: N82E16811133176
$794.99

1 Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB 3.5" SATA 3.0Gb/s Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive Item #:N82E16822136456
$179.99
1 Microsoft Windows 7 Professional 64-bit 1-Pack for System Builders Item #:N82E16832116758
$139.99
1 OCZ Reaper HPC Edition 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Low Voltage Desktop Memory Item #:N82E16820227559
$89.99
Grand Total: $1,204.96

More about : feedback system

November 8, 2010 10:45:18 PM

As far as compatibility goes, your build should work. Here are my comments:

1. I don't see a CPU cooler on there so I'm guessing you don't intend to overclock?

2. The low voltage ram doesn't save much power so if its any more expensive than regular ram I'd go with the regular.