Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Trying to resucitate a good, reliable machine

Last response: in Systems
November 9, 2010 2:41:51 AM

Ok, I'll try to be brief because I know its just another post of 'tell me what to buy!'.

Here is what I have been using for last 6 or 7 yrs. I built this thing for 600 bucks and absolutely have loved it. I have had it continually overclocked at what I'm guessing is around 10-11% and only issues I have had is smoking a RAM module, burned up 2 PSU's, and had to upgrade cpu fan as well as anually (ANUALLY...not anally) reapply some ArcticSilver. Only complaint is she is gettin old now and can NOT handle any of the newer stuff with any eye candy turned on or the system just hangs, locks up, etc. Assassin's Creed, Fallout, etc. I was pushing the machines limits when I was playin Oblivion and was absolutely at its best playing BF2 or DAoC.

MSI 865PE Neo3 motherboard (LGA775 socket) with 2.9ghz Prescott cpu (OC'd to 3.26ghz) I have 4 case fans I have added with an independant powersupply
4gb dual channel DDR400 PC-3200 RAM
1 80gb WD PATA drive (only has OS on it)
1 320GB Raid-0 drive (2 WD caviar 160gb SATA drives)
1 Nvidia 7600GT 256mb AGP 8x card
550w PSU
other usb peripherals, flight sticks, throttles, wireless keyboard/mouse, etc.

I guess what my main question is is this: