Please help me :(

Eroge

Distinguished
Jul 9, 2009
It's my first time building a computer, I've been at this for hours now, and I have no idea how to power my graphics card.

I've got this: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814127518

I see I think 3 power connectors on the side of the graphics card, but I'm not sure if I'm supposed to connect all 3 things to the power supply. I don't want to kill my $215 card. The instructions say how to put the card on the motherboard, but not how to connect the power to it >.<

What power supply do you have? It should have 2 6 pin or 6+2 pin PCI-E cables that you will plug into those two 6 pin sockets on the back of the board, thats all you need to do to power the card, there are only two connectors that go to the power supply, if you think you found a third post a picture of it first, it likely isnt meant for power.

Once you have the two PCI-E power cables hooked in you will have power for the card and will be good to go.

Eroge

Distinguished
Jul 9, 2009
Ok, the graphics card has 2 6pin PCI-E inputs, and 1 other next to it that looks like a Sata but with only 3 pins. The graphics card also came with a bunch of adapters...and these little red and black wires that I have no idea what they are.

So I guess I need to plug 2 wires from the power supply into the video card and I'm done?

Thanks for the fast reply!!! I need to sleep soon

Fail. Lol, The PCI 6 pins are connectors attached to the PSU. Those 3 pins, they're just there, part of the bus on the card. The 6 pins is what powers the actual card. Do you have 6 pin connectors on your PSU? What model is your PSU. Please tell me you didn't cheap out on a crappy 20$-40$ psu.

Eroge

Distinguished
Jul 9, 2009