Sign in with
Your question

Can't Decide Between Dominator GT or G.Skill Ripjaws X

Last response: in Memory
October 9, 2011 4:38:33 AM

INB4YOUDONTNEEDTHATMUCHRAM; I am a Video Editor working with 3D Graphics in real-time, and do heavy gaming as well as multitasking so I would benefit from 16GB of ram vs 8GB.

Ok so I am building a new rig pretty soon and have worked out everything except the RAM. I am running a Z68 Mobo so its Dual-Channel RAM only. Dominator has been around a while and has been reccomended to me but G.Skill is usually cheaper and i have seen it advertised in the GSL and has good reviews.

Both sets are 8GB (2X4GB) DDR3 and I plan on buying 2 sets for a full 16Gb of ram, both sets are compatible on the Maximus IV Extreme-Z so no mobo problems here. My knowledge of RAM Timing's goes as far as lower is better so I could use some help with that.

Overclocking is a big factor for me as I want to get my $$$ worth. I am getting a full LC loop so no extra heat from the CPU. I plan on getting a Corsair CMXAF2 Fan for the G.Skill as it comes with the Dominator and has a better CFM than G.Skill's fan. It is $30 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

G.Skill Ripjaws X, 8GB (2X4GB), 2133Mhz, 1.65V, 9-11-10-28 (F3-17000CL9D-8GBXM) $250 for 2 sets with the Fan
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

CORSAIR DOMINATOR GT, 8GB (2 x 4GB), 1866Mhz, 1.5V, 9-10-9-27 (CMT8GX3M2A1866C9) $310 for 2 sets, $280 without the second Fan
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

I really want to get the best Performance/Price Ratio I can. The Dominator runs at a lower speed than the G.Skill but has better timings (I think). Have heard it has better OC Potential but no info to back it up.

The G.Skill is $30 Cheaper with the fan and runs at 2133 and from what I have read has good OC Potential as well as good timings (Again I think).