HTPC Build Help

rednekcowboy

Distinguished
Nov 12, 2010
Hi all,

I read the forums on here all the time, but this is my first time posting, so please, be gentle!! :D I'm building a HTPC and thought I'd pick your collective brains. I"ve already got the case and power supply. Here they are:

Case: http://www.ncix.com/products/?sku=41910&vpn=HTPC-8000&manufacture=NMedia%20System
PSU: http://www.ncix.com/products/index.php?sku=21597&vpn=OCZ850GXSSLI&manufacture=OCZ%20Technology&promoid=1259

The case fits a full size motherboard so I have a couple of options and this is where I'd like your input. I can go with a cheap motherboard and cpu and then get a decent graphics card or I could go a little overkill and get a decent motherboard and cpu and use the onboard video. For the cheap motherboard, I was thinking of going with something that can use the AMD 955 dual core and unlock the 2 "hidden cores" and make it a quad-core, which would be more than enough for what I need this system for, however I also wanted something that would be somewhat "futureproof" if there is such a thing anymore. This is what I was thinking for the more expensive mobo/cpu combo:

GIGABYTE GA-890GPA-UD3H AM3 or ASUS M4A89GTD PRO/USB3 or ASRock 890GX EXTREME4 AM3 AMD 890GX
CPU: AMD Phenom II X6 1055T Thuban 6 Core Processor

Ram: Patriot G Series ‘Sector 5’ Edition 8GB

Bluray Reader/DVD writer combo drive (don't plan on burning blurays at this point)

2 * 2tb drives