Sign in with
Your question

Do I Need a Full Case?

Last response: in Components
February 6, 2011 7:07:16 PM

I've never built with a mid case before and it makes me a touch nervous from a space and heat standpoint. Here's what I'm stuffing into the case:

Asus Sabertooth P67
Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus Fan
Sparkle GTX 580
Sparkle 1000W PSU
Intel I5-2500K
Soundblaster X-fi Titanium
Crucial 120gb SSD
WD 1GB
GSKILL 8GB (2x4GB) Ripjaws
ASUS DVD Burner

Here's what's important to me:

Ease of cable management
Top mounted PSU
Limit dust as much as possible
I may SLI at a later date
I want the case to be quiet
I'm probably not going to super overclock the machine, just some moderate OC with the multiplier

I know it's probably a stupid question and lots of people make mid cases with more components but I just need to hear it from people that know a lot more than me before I order my rig.

If a mid case does work, what's some great mid cases your can recommend?

Thanks!

More about : full case

a c 274 ) Power supply
February 6, 2011 7:21:27 PM

Here's some high quality cases.I included the HAF 932 = sale!
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Productcompare.aspx?Submi...

You could look at a HAF 922 as well.
I know the HAF series is popular with alot of people but i can't personally tell you what the dust intake is like(no filters)
I have a 902 original version and dust is not a problem and it's quiet.
I also have a CM690II which also has dust filtration and excellent cable management.
The Antec is the quieter of the two even though it has 3 more fans in it.
Jeez! i just noticed top mounted psu! why?
I don't think you'll find many options there.
m
l
Related resources
February 6, 2011 7:31:12 PM

My impression is that the top mounted PSU is significantly cooler than a bottom mounted.

Am I not correct?
m
l
February 6, 2011 7:34:17 PM

I second the CM 690 II Advanced. I have one, and it's downright awesome. Definitely be sure to check the clearance with that 580, though. :D