Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Display Driver Stopped Responding HD 5850/5870

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
September 21, 2010 3:59:28 PM

Hello,

This is my first time using this forum and I desperately need help. In June I purchased a new rig and I am kind of a noob when it comes to building PC's. I put my computer together and everything worked except when I played any game from BFBC2 to a internet flash games, my display driver stopped responding and would recover but the game would crash. I RMA'd my gigabyte 5850 and when it was return it still didn't work right. I also have a XFX 5870 and its the same problem. I tried all the drivers on AMDs website. I reloaded windows 7 professional which is what I'm using and same problem persists. Also I originally had a ASRock motherboard and AMD support told me to get a new one and i got an ASUS and that didn't help. Its been 3 months and I'm itching for this thing to work right. Any help is appreciative.

RIG:
-ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard
-Intel Core i7-930 Bloomfield 2.8GHz 4 x 256KB L2 Cache 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1366 130W Quad-Core Desktop Processor BX80601930
-Rosewill Green Series RG630-S12 630W Continuous @40°C,80 PLUS Certified, Single 12V Rail, Active PFC "Compatible with Core i7,i5" Power Supply
-GeIL 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10660) Triple Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model GV36GB1333C9TC
-XFX HD-587A-CNF9 Radeon HD 5870 2GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Eyefinity 6 Edition Video Card
-Windows 7 Professional x64

More about : display driver stopped responding 5850 5870

September 21, 2010 5:40:36 PM