Sign in with
Your question
Closed

BIOS won't recognize my SATA hard drive

Last response: in Motherboards
October 12, 2011 3:14:55 PM

Hi everyone, i'm new to Tom's but it looks like this would be the best place to get some advice on a problem that i'm having. I'm at a loss with what to do.

I'm doing a fresh build (not my first), and i'm using an MSI 870S-46 motherboard. Everything fires up beautifully with the configuration, but for some reason the BIOS won't recognize the hard drive. I've done some tests and it looks like all of the SATA ports work (the BIOS recognizes my optical drive in all ports), but the hard drive just won't show up for some reason. To make sure it wasn't a bad hard drive I picked up a second brand new drive, and it won't recognize it either. The strange part is that when I try and format windows, it says it can't recognize a drive, but when it gives me the option to search for drivers to upload, a C drive option is on the list. So some part of the hardware recognizes a drive is attached, but the BIOS doesn't. I've tried downloading drivers from a flash drive from the main MSI site, but it can't seem to find any compatible drivers when I try and load them. Does anyone have any suggestions? Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

MSI 870S-G46
Western Digital Caviar Blue 320GB SATA Hard Drive
EVGA Geforce GTX 460
OCZ 700W Power Supply
4GB of RAM (2x2 sticks) DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaw
AMD Phenom II Quad Core 3.4 GHZ

a c 212 V Motherboard
October 12, 2011 3:53:25 PM

What mode (in your BIOS) is your SATA ports set to (IDE, AHCI, or RAID)? I suggest IDE mode if not already set that way, for now.
Score
October 12, 2011 3:57:18 PM

I've actually tried all 3 of the modes to no avail. I currently have it set to IDE, though.
Score
Related resources
a c 716 V Motherboard
October 12, 2011 4:09:49 PM

Welcome to Tom's Forums! :) 

Q - What OS?
Q - What SATA Port(s)?
Q - Does the ' Caviar Blue 320GB' show-up on another PC's SATA?