Sign in with
Your question

Built in RAM and Nothbridge Chips

Last response: in CPUs
February 9, 2011 2:27:07 PM

I have been asking myself this question for a few years now and for the life of me I can’t come up with an answer. Why don't CPU's contain the memory and Northbridge chips inside the processor. After all they have Built in cache memory built in why not RAM. When you look at a Mainboard usually the traces go directly from the processor to the Northbridge and memory without any resistors or anything in the way. The chips themselves are made the same way as the processor. so why not simplify the whole thing and combine everything on one chip? While you’re at it add in a GPU and Southbridge and some SSD memory any you will have an entire computer on a chip. That would save a whole lot of space and with today’s cooling technology it would be feasible to keep the whole thing cool with a peltier or liquid/radiator setup. is it a marketing thing are they making more money selling the chips separately or is it just impossible to do.
Just my .02
a c 159 à CPUs
a c 128 } Memory
February 9, 2011 3:27:19 PM

Maybe they will someday. Intel finally put the graphics on the cpu die; that took several years until the size of the circuitry got small enough to have room for the graphics.
February 9, 2011 3:46:30 PM

Die space is valuable, attempting to fit it on sacrifices speed/efficiency of the CPU. You have to understand that they only integrate what improves performance.

So this means that with current technology having these items separate is more efficient than what we would be able to create with everything integrated. So having a CPU with a large amount of transistor space, large amounts of cache and higher clock rates is better than integrating the northbridge on it.

Also it is impossible to fit a reasonable amount of memory of the die, such as 512MB.
Related resources
a b à CPUs
a b } Memory
February 9, 2011 3:49:32 PM