Why is my Radeon 5770 frame rate so low?? 18FPS

fluke83

Distinguished
Sep 18, 2010
I got a Radeon 5770. It's not overclocked but I think it should still be running way better than this. I just started playing Final Fantasy XIV & I'm only getting 18 FPS. I even put everything on low settings (No AA or any other of those other boxes checkmarked) & I'm still only getting 20 FPS avg running 1280x720.

Also, I downloaded the official Final Fantasy XIV Benchmark software (frame rates on a cutscene) here: http://lodestone.finalfantasyxiv.com/pl/download/benchmark01.html

My system scored 3485, according to the link above it means:
[3000-4499] Fairly High Performance
Capable of running the game on default settings. Consider switching to a higher resolution depending on performance.

My system specs:
Intel Quad-core Q6600 @2.4GHz
6 GB DDR2

I just don't understand, can anyone help? Thanks

skolpo

Distinguished
Sep 20, 2009
You got "fairly high performance" from a fairly high performance card. That sounds about right. However, 18FPS at your resolution is quite low. Have you tried benchmarking in other games to get a more accurate reading? Try OCing that Q6600 to 3.0 or so if you're worrying too much about low framerate.

Hmm I think Boris has it. Most likely it doesn't have official support yet. But it could be something like your RAM is full and file paging is kicking your ass lol.

It would be a good idea to open task manager while gaming then check it after a minute or so and see what kind of RAM usage as well as CPU usage you're having. Also if you have MSI Afterburner you can see if your cards are at max usage. Sometimes when not supported the gpu will run at like 50% and give shitty FPS.

borisof007

Distinguished
Mar 16, 2010
^^+1