Sign in with
Your question

What is psu?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
September 25, 2010 9:38:53 AM

help im really new to this but what is psu? and what can it do to the quality of my gaming?

More about : psu

a c 171 U Graphics card
a b 4 Gaming
September 25, 2010 10:11:14 AM

As for the quality of your gaming, a bigger and better PSU will allow you to use the bigger GPUs. This allows you to turn on more details and get higher frame rates.
m
l
Related resources
a b U Graphics card
September 25, 2010 4:47:30 PM

The role of the PSU (Power Supply Unit) is to provide power to the internal components. A "bigger" PSU (more watts) will support more devices and devices that require more power; the parts of the computer that require the more power is usually the GPU (video card) and CPU (processor). Having a bigger PSU will not make the gaming better in itself (it really won't change a thing), but will allow you to power more high-end components that do make a difference. If you don't have a "big-enough" PSU, the system will be unstable. The same thing could happen if the PSU is of low quality. Among the reputable brands you have:
  • Corsair
  • Antec
  • Seasonic
  • PC Power and Cooling (sometimes referred to as PCP&C
    Others brands/models could also be good, just check back here to get opinions on specific models.
    m
    l
    a b U Graphics card
    September 25, 2010 5:00:31 PM

Zenthar said: