What is psu?

help im really new to this but what is psu? and what can it do to the quality of my gaming?
10 answers Last reply
More about what
  1. As for the quality of your gaming, a bigger and better PSU will allow you to use the bigger GPUs. This allows you to turn on more details and get higher frame rates.
  2. The role of the PSU (Power Supply Unit) is to provide power to the internal components. A "bigger" PSU (more watts) will support more devices and devices that require more power; the parts of the computer that require the more power is usually the GPU (video card) and CPU (processor). Having a bigger PSU will not make the gaming better in itself (it really won't change a thing), but will allow you to power more high-end components that do make a difference. If you don't have a "big-enough" PSU, the system will be unstable. The same thing could happen if the PSU is of low quality. Among the reputable brands you have:Corsair
    Antec
    Seasonic
    PC Power and Cooling (sometimes referred to as PCP&C
    Others brands/models could also be good, just check back here to get opinions on specific models.
  3. Zenthar said:
    The role of the PSU (Power Supply Unit) is to provide power to the internal components. A "bigger" PSU (more watts) will support more devices and devices that require more power; the parts of the computer that require the more power is usually the GPU (video card) and CPU (processor). Having a bigger PSU will not make the gaming better in itself (it really won't change a thing), but will allow you to power more high-end components that do make a difference. If you don't have a "big-enough" PSU, the system will be unstable. The same thing could happen if the PSU is of low quality. Among the reputable brands you have:Corsair
    Antec
    Seasonic
    PC Power and Cooling (sometimes referred to as PCP&C
    Others brands/models could also be good, just check back here to get opinions on specific models.

+1^