Total: 22 votes (2 blank votes)

• High End
  • 25 %
  • Mid Range
  • 60 %
  • Budget
  • 15 %
February 14, 2011 9:52:33 AM

Like the title mentioned, I have always wonder what the right rig for me is.

I have recently been saving up for a new gaming rig, but with so many options available in today's market i just don't know the right one. I am no computer expert/enthusiast, so seeking opinions from those who are would be quite helpful, my main use for the computer is gonna be MMO's with games like Aion, Tera, Guildwars 2 and i like to think that I'm using it to its worth, just like buying a $3000 comp for word would be pointless, so with that i enjoy playing on medium to high is fine, I don't do editing (Video, Song, etc.) so which rig would be worth the value, and why?
February 14, 2011 10:23:30 AM

I usually prefer an enthusiast/high-end design myself. This means heftier costs upfront but (w/out hardware failure) it'll last a long time and your real given upgrades are a graphics card every 1-2 years with a hefty lifespan of maybe 5 years. Only thing that I'd be cautious about is seeing what comes up on Intel/AMD's end around Q3/4 of this year. Stuff like a case, psu and hard drive, OS are a given that regardless what you get elsewhere will be compatible. Your processor, however, has bearings on your motherboard and that, in turn, can also determine what RAM (and how much of it) you want to get and the graphic card as well. I currently use my rig for mmo's (FF14, EvE and Aion) and was able to keep my budget extremely lower vs having it built by HP, Dell/Alienware and so on (savings was about $1k+). I have to say I like what I get on my rig for gaming and for its professional uses as well and I like the fact that it does show everything the way I want it far better than any laptop (even an Asus G73) and that is a huge perk obviously!
a b à CPUs
a b 4 Gaming
February 14, 2011 11:36:42 AM