Sign in with
Your question

Mini ITX case help

Last response: in Systems
November 19, 2010 8:53:13 PM

I will buy (build) Mini ITX system! But i have zero experience. Can you recommend:

-What mini-itx case should i buy and why so i will not have problems with components size
-Can you recommend what kind of power supply unit (PSU) is the best on the market

I search for good price/performance ratio and something that is future proof!

Thanks! :hello: 

More about : mini itx case

a b B Homebuilt system
November 19, 2010 9:26:10 PM

what is your budget range?
a b B Homebuilt system
November 19, 2010 9:38:38 PM

ITX is lowend, and is junky.... no offesne, Mini-ATX or ATX would be a better way to go
Related resources
a b B Homebuilt system
November 19, 2010 9:40:29 PM

Mini-ITX cases usually come with a power supply. Some of them are excellent quality and some of them are probably junk.

What is your budget? What is the intended purpose of the system?
a b B Homebuilt system
November 19, 2010 9:41:33 PM

ah, I was talking about aboards, my bad...
November 19, 2010 9:45:56 PM

I don't know. I have zero experience and don't know how much i am willing to spend. Basically it depends on facts. I googled for PSU and found two options:

picoPSU:
http://www.mini-itx.com/store/?c=10#dcdc
And adapter for picoPSU:
http://www.mini-itx.com/store/?c=10#univ

FlexATX
http://www.mini-itx.com/store/?c=10#atx

I would like to have fanless PSU but i don't know if it has enough power and if it overheats? And then is picoPSU reliable and good option or are there better thing? What brick should i buy and which picoPSU model... I would like to be able to use all Mini itx boards on the market now and in near future!
a b B Homebuilt system
November 19, 2010 9:53:25 PM

I would go Micro-ATX, however what do you plan to use this PC for, basic task like web browsing, watching videos and listening to music. A home theater computer, or a gaming rig????