Sign in with
Your question
Solved

SSD swap for Avatar 145A2 Ultrabook?

Last response: in Storage
March 3, 2013 3:32:59 PM

Hello all,

First post here. Anyhow I nervously purchased an Avatar 145A2 Ultrabook from NewEgg the other day (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...)... the main reason I did was the price at the time ($550) and 17 positive reviews on NewEgg as well. Anyhow, there isn't much known about this company or hardly any information to be found about them, or this computer online. With the research I did, apparently you can swap the hybrid drive in this machine for a SSD provided its 7mm in size? I am an SSD newbie and this will be my first SSD purchase.

I'm wanting to purchase the Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, but I'm not sure if this will fit inside of this machine? Can someone please advise?

Thanks!

Best solution

a c 311 G Storage
March 3, 2013 3:57:59 PM

Retail versions of the Samsung 840 and 840 Pro solid state drives are 7mm thick so you should not have any problems.
March 3, 2013 11:40:46 PM

Best answer selected by kwriley87.
m
l
Related resources
May 29, 2013 4:07:36 PM

kwriley87 said:
Hello all,

First post here. Anyhow I nervously purchased an Avatar 145A2 Ultrabook from NewEgg the other day (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...)... the main reason I did was the price at the time ($550) and 17 positive reviews on NewEgg as well. Anyhow, there isn't much known about this company or hardly any information to be found about them, or this computer online. With the research I did, apparently you can swap the hybrid drive in this machine for a SSD provided its 7mm in size? I am an SSD newbie and this will be my first SSD purchase.

I'm wanting to purchase the Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, but I'm not sure if this will fit inside of this machine? Can someone please advise?

Thanks!