Looking for knowledge on PC components

thisguy105

Distinguished
Dec 8, 2010
I am new to pc gaming (hides in shame) and I know little to nothing about computers. I know very basic stuff like graphics cards and processors but I do not know how they work. Example, the l2 cache and all that stuff. I would like to read an in-depth guide on motherboards, cpus, graphics cards, ram all that stuff, I would like to have all this knowledge so my computer can run at optimal performance. As of right now, I don't know if my computer is running at optimal performance, I tried a benchmarking tool the heaven something benchmark and that is a really demanding benchmark so I hear. I'm not sure if 10-15 fps is common with my system. So are there any guides on the internet where I can learn all of this stuff?
Specs:
PHEMON IIX4 965 3.4GHZ
ASUS M4A88TD-V EVO
RADEON 6870
CORSAIR 2X4 GB

Also, I had a power surge and was wondering if that would affect my system. I'm hoping not so I don't have to return everything.

If you use a Surge Protector, you will be protected by Power Surges. A good PSU will also help (from Corsair, Antec, XFX, Silverstone, Seasonic or more expensive like PC Power & Cooling).

There are a lot of articles and other things online. You don't need to learn too much about how caches work--just that they're kinda like RAM (which is faster for the CPU to access than a hard drive), but the memory resides on the CPU itself instead of the motherboard--so it's even faster to access. And L1 cache is faster than L2 for all the most important stuff.

Just look stuff up on google and read reviews. If you ask a specific question, we can answer it. But just a general guide on everything? That's a long answer. Davcon's right about Wikipedia for components.