New Build -- $500 AMD-Nvidia budget gaming/multi-purpose

I'm a first time builder, and I'm seeking advice on a $500 budget AMD-nVidia gaming/multi-purpose build. Let me know what you think of my choices. Thanks.

Approximate Purchase Date: This weekend (nVidia discount ends 11/21); but could wait if I could get better deals on nVidia GTX 460 768 or 1gb on Black Friday/Cyber Monday)
Budget Range: $500 after rebates
System Usage from Most to Least Important: gaming/multi-purpose
Parts Not Required: keyboard, monitor (27” 1920x1080), mouse, speakers, OS (Windows Vista), tools
Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Newegg, TigerDirect, Amazon
Country of Origin: USA
Parts Preferences: AMD CPU and nVidia GPU
Overclocking: Maybe
SLI or Crossfire: No
Monitor Resolution:1920x1080
Additional Comments: Plan to dual boot Windows Vista and Linux (probably Debian); prefer nVidia for better Linux drivers. Also, I tried to pick components to allow for possible future upgradeability.

CPU: AMD Athlon II X4 640 3.0GHz Socket AM3 95W Quad-Core Desktop Processor
Mobo: ASRock 770 EXTREME3 ATX AMD Motherboard
$73 ($70 + $3shipping)
GPU: ASUS GeForce GTX 460 (Fermi) ENGTX460 DirectCU TOP/2DI/768MD5 Video Card
$115 (after 10% promo code and $20 mail in rebate)
RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) Desktop Memory
Hard Drive: Western Digital Caviar Green WD15EARS 1.5TB 64MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive
Case/PSU: HEC 6K28BBX585 Black 0.8mm SECC Steel MicroATX Mini Tower Computer Case 585W Power Supply
+ (Combo discount)
DVD/CD ROM: LITE-ON CD/DVD Burner - Bulk Black SATA Model iHAS124-04 - OEM
$71 ($67 + $4 shipping)

Total (Includes Shipping) – $486
8 answers Last reply
More about build nvidia budget gaming multi purpose
  1. Hi,

You got a few things wrong:

The case is a miniATX, that means that the MOBO will not fit in.

So you need to get a midi tower (case) for the MOBO you choose.