HELP ME BUILD A SICK RENDERING COMPUTER!

itowle88

Distinguished
Nov 20, 2010
Hi all,
I'm in desperate need of a hardcore 3d rendering desktop computer! (mostly using 3ds Max and VRay)... Currently I use a Dell precision M6300 laptop (Core 2 Duo 2.4 GHz - 4 GB RAM - NVIDIA Quadro FX 3600M) - and I'm bogged down with massive render times... I'm an architect and the time spent rendering is really cutting into my productivity.

I was considering a high end prebuilt Dell or Alienware computer but am thinking I can build my own for less and spec exactly what I need and nothing more. I'm new to building computers but have a base knowledge. I would love some advice... Cost is not a major issue but i'd prefer to keep the total package below 5k. Here is the list of components I've spec'd so far... Am I on the right path? What else should I be considering? Should I be adding supplemental cooling components - and if so, which one, and liquid or air? I'm also a little confused about the Hard Drive (SATA business)

Processor: Intel Core i7 Extreme 980X 3.33 GHZ Hexa Core - $1,000
Motherboard: Asus Rampage III Extreme - $365
Memory: Corsair Dominator-GT 12 GB (3 x 4GB 240-pin DDR3) - $400
Graphics Card: ATI FirePro V8700 - $875
Computer Case: Cooler Master HAF X RC-942-KKN1 ATX Full Tower - $180
2 Hard Drives: 2 Western Digial VelociRaptor WD6000HLHX 600GB 10,000rpm 32mb Cache SATA 6.0gb - 2 x $280
Power Supply: Cooler Master Silent Pro RSA00-AMBAJ3-US 1000W - $170
Monitor: Samsung PX2370 23" 2ms Full HD LED Backlight LCD Monitor - $300

Any help or suggestions would be great... I don't want to throw money at the wrong stuff!

Thanks.

Solution
Looks like budget isn't an issue.