ASUS p8p67 Major Issue: COmpatibility

asustudent1

Distinguished
Oct 13, 2011
Dear Tom's Hardware Members:

Hello. And Thank you much. I am new to Tom's, but I have read just about every article in every category over the last few weeks. I decided to order an Asus p8p67 Deluxe, after reading Tom's Review.

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/asrock-p67-extreme6-asus-p8p67-deluxe-msi-p67a-gd80,2924-17.html

However. I soon discovered a major issue with the ASUS p8p67s. There is a big problem with their BIOS memory compatibility and stability, which causes boots and malfunctioning. The most informative forum can be found here.

http://vip.asus.com/forum/view.aspx?SLanguage=en-us&id=20110109013000847&page=1&count=131

Quote Asus Forums "This issue with RAM has been talked about around the world since the board was launched last week.
It has something to do with using P55 chip set designed RAM in P67 design boards. It seems to have to do with RAM voltage and the XMP profile is a bit different. That is why some firms, like G.Skill, have already come out with adapted RAM labelled for Sandy Bridge" called "Ripjaw X". I have heard that there are a lot of problems with specific makes, many already mentioned in this thread. Stores are getting tons of returns and doing RMA's on various DIMMs as a result of this. I understand it only affects about half the RAM that is available. If you load old style 1333MHz RAM, like Kingston ValueRam, it works perfectly without any issues at all. I know because that is what I run (without issue). "

As long as you dont mind your RAM running at 1333mHZ or below, it doesn't matter. But when you enable XMP or manual overclocks to boost RAM to 1600 +, it causes major issues for many users. I am not referring to overclocking 1300mhZ ram, but merely trying to set 1600 or 1800 RAM at each brand's advertised speed.