Recommendations for a GTX 460

spzero

Distinguished
Sep 26, 2010
Hello,

I'm very new at creating/building PCs and I just recently built one. However, it is currently incomplete as I am just searching for a video card to use. I've basically settled for a GTX 460 and after reading tons of reviews, including the roundup here at Tom's, I'm still very, very confused as to which one I should purchase.

Because I am a newbie at this kind of thing, I'm really just looking for something that will require - at least at this point - user input and works amazingly out of the box. This means, for the next few months or so (maybe even up to a year), I will not be fiddling with any sort of overclocking of any kind or any of the cool stuff people can do on PCs (mostly because I have no idea how to do it yet).

My setup is very basic and as follows:
AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE - 3.4 GHz
Gigabyte GA-880A-UD3H Motherboard
Patriot Sector 5 PGV34G1333ELK 4GB DDR3 2X2GB DDR3-1333
Ultra LS600 Lifetime Series 600W Power Supply
Thermaltake V4 Black Edition ATX Mid Tower Case
- All with stock cooling provided

And I'll be gaming on a 19" HDTV at the resolution of 1360x768. 1920x1080 is supported on my television, though it's kinda blurry and not as sharp as the former resolution possibly due to it not being its native resolution. I also realize that buying such a powerful card for such a relatively small resolution might seem overkill, but it's with the thought of the future and me possibly getting a better monitor and such.

Well anyways, with that incredibly long preamble, which brand of GTX 460 should I be looking at? The price I'm looking at is no more than around $250 CAD. Any suggestions would be very appreciated.

notty22

Distinguished
At newegg.ca the MSI Hawk, Cyclone, Asus DirecCU and Gigabyte dual fan are all around the same price, under 250.
I have the Cyclones, they run cool.