Under $1000 gaming and work PC

shaunkilroy

Distinguished
Nov 21, 2010
I'm looking to build a computer under $1000, preferably under $800. It will be used primarily for gaming, working, and video-chatting (long-distance family). This is the first time I've attempted a computer build, I have some basic knowledge of computers but have not attempted something along these lines. I would greatly appreciate any, and all, assistance able to be provided. I would like it to be able to handle dual-monitors, possibly a tertiary as well (small flat-screen television). I've got a usable keyboard, mouse, and speaker set; nothing fancy but workable for now so am looking to bypass those requirements at this time. I would like to have a SSD boot drive, as I've heard that they greatly aid in boot, and load times for programs; but still have a larger internal HDD, but I also have an external hard drive as well. I have no personal preference towards AMD or Intel, but would prefer a built that is more easily upgradeable as the options appear (both product and funds). Thanks all!

What kind of work do you do/what applications do you use? If it's something like AutoCAD or heavy movie editing, it will change your needs from just Office and minor Photoshop use.

As a base, I would recommend the AMD Phenom II X4 955 CPU and an 890 chipset AMD board, with 4 GB RAM and a 64 GB SSD. Depending on the graphics usage, we can choose the right GPU and power supply for the build.

idoop

Distinguished
Dec 8, 2009
If your going for that price i would agree with boiler dont try to go for an i5 or i7 just get an amd. this will save you a lot of money for other stuff :)

shaunkilroy

Distinguished
Nov 21, 2010