Can it be done and is it worth it ?

RickV

Distinguished
Nov 21, 2010
I have a Dell XPS 410 with all of this in it:

BIOS: Phoenix ROM BIOS PLUS Version 1.10 2.5.3
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU 6600 @ 2.40GHz (2 CPUs)
Memory: 3070MB RAM DDR2-SDRAM 667MHz
Card name: ATI Radeon HD 4800 Series
Manufacturer: ATI Technologies Inc.
Chip type: ATI Radeon Graphics Processor (0x9442)
Model: SAMSUNG SP2504C

Drive: D:
Model: TSSTcorp DVD+-RW TS-H553A
Drive: E:
Model: SONY CDRWDVD CRX310S

It is past being upgraded and being a disabled veteran I am on a budget
My question is can this tower be gutted and a new mobo /pcu (i5 750 type) be put into the tower?
I would need a better PSU (375 won't cut it) upgraded memory to match new system,
and a better video card and probably a replacement for the HD (even though I only have about 50% of this one used.
I play WoW (since I don't get out much) and its cheap entertainment.
I looked at some of the pre-built from Dell and for 500-700 there isn't much choice so this was why I was looking at the possibility / feasibility of doing the upgrades to this one
Thank you for any help you can give me

vvarreng

Distinguished
Nov 16, 2010
If your changing the Mobo completely then I don't see why not, because I know that those Dell computers in the past had a mobo that was part specific to their products. Greedy on their part. Just make sure you know the size of your case so that you get the right size board. Make sure when you buy your new PSU to check the cables. There are differences from the 4 pin and SATA adapters, and by the sounds of your computer you might have to use 4 pin connector prongs. I found out quickly when my new hdd only had a sata adapter. Thankfully my psu had one.

suteck

Distinguished
If you give us a budget that works for you I have seen these people come up with some amazing systems?
Here's one for under $580
Or this one for about $1000
And this one might be to your liking.