Sign in with
Your question

Advice on my first build

Last response: in Components
February 16, 2011 3:58:35 PM

I decided to ask for advice on my first computer build. I am a complete novice whose only knowledge comes from internet research and am not sure whether the parts I am thinking of getting will be ok.

I intend on getting:
AMD Phenom x4 955 processor
Corsair xms3 8GB (2*4GB) RAM
Corsair builder series cx500w atx power supply
Western digital caviar blue 500GB SATA 2 l, 16mb cache
Gigabyte GA-MA785GMT UD2H
LG BH10LS30
And Windows 7 home premium 64 bit

The computer will he for general use and no major gaming accept football manager so no real good graphics are needed. I would be very greatfull if you could tell me if these parts are compatible and if anything should be upgraded to a better part. Also I am aiming to make it as fast as possible for day to day use, my budget will stretch but I'm not going to go for an I7 extreme for example. Thank you in advance.

More about : advice build

February 16, 2011 4:24:05 PM

That build looks good. Nothing really needs to be improved unless you suddenly started playing games.
Related resources
February 16, 2011 4:48:27 PM

I agree with Leaps-from-Shadows it looks fine and the Corsair CX500 is a solid psu.
The psu is the wrong place to save money minitron815 .
The only thing i was wondering about was the Gigabyte GA-MA785GMT UD2H
which is pretty much deactivated/no longer stocked at most retailers.
I'm not saying anything bad about it just wondering how much it cost?
Since you can get 880G's cheap.
February 16, 2011 5:15:38 PM

The motherboard was somthing I was not sure about and I would be happy to upgrade it that area if there will be noticable differences in performance with a better motherboard.
February 16, 2011 5:37:22 PM