Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Any point in buying a high end CPU?

Last response: in CPUs
February 18, 2011 5:49:56 AM

I'm planning to buy a new PC and I'm not sure which CPU is right for me. I'm a programmer and I know how fast my CPU needs to be to do development so my question is purely about gaming. Do new games really need that much CPU power so that having a mid-range CPU would actually be a bottleneck? What are those i7 990 extreme edition good for anyway, why would anyone want to buy them? And which processor should I buy for a high-end PC so that I'll be able to play pretty much any games today?
February 18, 2011 6:05:59 AM

Well, new games certainly can be CPU bottlenecked. Starcraft 2 is a good example of this, and it's not the only one. As for a good CPU to handle games, the i7 9XX are good, or the new i7s on the 1366 platform will be able to rock any new game hard.
Score
February 18, 2011 6:15:25 AM

Depends on your budget.

For me i myself would go for amd 955 or 965 or something since they arn't bad. If you want to go higher apparantly the 2500K from intel i5 is good also.

if you can aford it get those i7 processors. You dont need the extreme editions.

If you wanna play any game i reccomend getting i5 2500K (around 150 quid i think, not too sure)
and for a graphics card maybe a gtx 280 or if you want to go for osmething big, maybe gtx 460?

but im getting the amd phenom ii x4 955 or 965, and a gtx 260 or gts 450 so yeah.
Score
Related resources
February 18, 2011 6:24:35 AM

My budget is big enough, I want to get a GTX 580 or two :) , and was considering something along the lines of i7 950. But even this feels a bit overpowered for anything I might want to do. How could Starcraft 2 possibly utilize so much processing power?

(About sandy bridge: the current motherboards don't look all that awesome and I don't feel like waiting a couple more months for some better ones to come out.)
Score
February 18, 2011 6:42:12 AM

Busac said: