Any point in buying a high end CPU?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Busac

Distinguished
Feb 18, 2011
I'm planning to buy a new PC and I'm not sure which CPU is right for me. I'm a programmer and I know how fast my CPU needs to be to do development so my question is purely about gaming. Do new games really need that much CPU power so that having a mid-range CPU would actually be a bottleneck? What are those i7 990 extreme edition good for anyway, why would anyone want to buy them? And which processor should I buy for a high-end PC so that I'll be able to play pretty much any games today?

Solution

SC2 Is really processor intensive, for both gameplay and graphics. There's a ton of AI for unit control and computer players that can tax most processors. In addition, there's also a bunch of graphics stuff that needs to be done on CPU in that game. Reflections on water require CPU processing power, that when enabled...

scotu

Distinguished
Jul 19, 2010
Well, new games certainly can be CPU bottlenecked. Starcraft 2 is a good example of this, and it's not the only one. As for a good CPU to handle games, the i7 9XX are good, or the new i7s on the 1366 platform will be able to rock any new game hard.

pkhamidar2com

Distinguished
Feb 2, 2011
Depends on your budget.

For me i myself would go for amd 955 or 965 or something since they arn't bad. If you want to go higher apparantly the 2500K from intel i5 is good also.

if you can aford it get those i7 processors. You dont need the extreme editions.

If you wanna play any game i reccomend getting i5 2500K (around 150 quid i think, not too sure)
and for a graphics card maybe a gtx 280 or if you want to go for osmething big, maybe gtx 460?

but im getting the amd phenom ii x4 955 or 965, and a gtx 260 or gts 450 so yeah.

Busac

Distinguished
Feb 18, 2011