WD 3TB HDD Storage

BProgrammer

Distinguished
Aug 14, 2011
Hi everyone

I ordered an internal WD HDD with a capacity of 3 TB from eBay a week ago. When it arrived, I tried to format it to prepare it for my files, but the surprise was when I found that only 764 GB is the available space on the HDD. I changed the computer but the problem was still there.

Does anybody know anything about such a situation ?

Is because of my computers (unlikely as I think) or is because of the HDD itself an I have to return it back to the merchant ?!

Please help quickly so I can arrange sending it back to the seller if needed !

BProgrammer

Distinguished
Aug 14, 2011

Thanks for your quick reply
Well, I do not think I have that much time to search for a pro to do so. However, in spite of that I am not a pro, I did that many times for several HDDs including the ones that I am using now (WD 2 TB + WD 500 GB)
Both work brilliantly with no issues.

You need to create a GPT partition, not an MBR partition if the drive is over 2TB. Use disk management to delete all partitions and recreate them as GPT. Your motherboard needs to be UEFI if you will be booting from it.

Q. Can the 32-bit version of Windows XP read, write, and boot from GPT disks?

A. No. The 32-bit version will see only the Protective MBR. The EE partition will not be mounted or otherwise exposed to application software.

Q. Can Windows 7, Windows Vista, and Windows Server 2008 read, write, and boot from GPT disks?

A. Yes, all versions can use GPT partitioned disks for data. Booting is only supported for 64-bit editions on UEFI-based systems.

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/hardware/gg463525.aspx

BProgrammer

Distinguished
Aug 14, 2011

Hi
I'll check that, but the problem is that the 750 GB space appears in GParted, FDisk or any other partitioning software when the disk is marked as unlocated even before I create any partition.

I'll check your way then I'll reply

BProgrammer

Distinguished
Aug 14, 2011