ASUS EAH5850 crossfire setup question

Status
Not open for further replies.

jynks

Distinguished
Sep 30, 2010
Hi all,

I am planning to buy a second ASUS EAH5850 graphics card to run in crossfire but the newer version card (TOP model) has a stock clock speed of 4500Mhz and ram speed of 1125Mhz while my current card has a clock speed of 4000Mhz and ram speed of 1000Mhz. I have never used crossfire before but i have heard conflicting explanation of how to set it up and i was wondering which was correct.

I have been told that to run them in crossfire i will have to manually match the speeds and voltages, and i have also been told that once i put the crossfire jumper across them the faster card will automatically throttle down to match the slower card. Which is true?

Also as I have never done this before if you guys could offer any advice as to how to make the process smooth and trouble free it would be greatly appreciated.

System specs are as follows:

ASUS P6T Motherboard
ASUS EAH5850 Graphics Card
intel core i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67Ghz
6 gig triple channel Corsair 1333Mhz 9-9-9-24 ram
Windows 7 64bit

Thanks very much,

Jynks

jynks

Distinguished
Sep 30, 2010
Hi thanks very much for the reply!

I looked into overclocking the first card and read a few forums about it but i didn't find anyone who had OCd it to 4500/1125 which is what i need to match up with the new card, best i could find was 4600/1025 so I am not sure if my current card will handle the match up especially the ram speed to the new card, also I have never OCd a graphics card before so i dont want to burn it out and / or break my mother board by tweaking the ram or voltage too high.

As for running them both at their differing stock speeds in crossfire I have been told that crossfire requires that both cards be running at identical voltages, gpu speeds and ram speeds, is that not the case??

Thanks for the reply!