Mobo doesn't support AHCI, would this help? Thanks.

quixoticduck

Honorable
Mar 10, 2013
Hello, I have done a search and can't find this (specifically for me to understand) on the forums already.

I was about to install W764-bit on my new SSD, I thought I had checked everything. Then I discovered that my motherboard (Asus A8N-SLI) does not support AHCI which is necessary for TRIM? and vital for SSDs?

Firstly, can anybody tell me if the above info correct (I am a beginner with all of this stuff), secondly I read somewhere that one of these could help because it has built in AHCI. Also will boost to SATA3 (though my SSD is only SATA2 3Gb/s).

I don't actually know what the above thing is, I shall have to research it more. Sadly it takes possibly a month to ship here and I was so ready to install, been putting it off for a month, thought I'd researched everything, everything was backed up and had all of my guides ready. >.<

My SSD is the Sandisk Ultra SDSSDH-120G-G25 SATA II SSD, I'm not actually 100% sure it supports TRIM, couldn't find out with google, but I just bought it new so it can't be too dated?

If this is true then maybe everything will be okay.

Any advice would be appreciated.

willard

Distinguished
Nov 12, 2010

Instead of buying a bunch of hardware to make something work on your ten year old motherboard, why don't you just replace the ten year old motherboard that's the problem?

quixoticduck

Honorable
Mar 10, 2013

Because I don't know anything about replacing motherboards. :S It sounds quite daunting and I'm not sure if my Windows copy is tied to it. I know someone who said he ruined a motherboard when trying to attach something himself (I think it was the processor, not sure), and wouldn't I have to make sure that the rest of the hardware was compatible, or is that not a thing?