Sign in with
Your question

First build: completely stuck! Please help....

Last response: in Motherboards
October 28, 2011 10:56:29 PM

Hello,

Well this is my first build. I have put everything together without smashing anything.

But when I power on, the "boot device led" comes on (red) and stays on. Now this doesn't stop it loading into the ez bios screen. Although it does say "no hdd detected" (but I read elsewhere it will sometimes just do this - i haven't got every sata port filled so it's just reporting that some aren't filled?)

But I have no idea why the boot device led is constantly on.

Regardless of this I have absolutely no idea what to do next. Should I be working my through the bios settings etc? Or should I try install windows first?

How will the computer know whether to install it on my ssd or my hdd?

Could the problem be how i linked my drives to the psu? The cable from psu to the drives had several connectors on the one cable. I just used the end one to connect to the drives but this left some connectors hanging loose - is this bad?

~confused~

Build:
Fractal Designs R3 Define case
asus p8p67 pro rev3.0
Seasonic 760w psu gold
i5 2500k
thermalright mux120 cpu cooler
nvidia 570 gpu
Adata 120gb SSD
Western Digital Caviar Green 1tb HDD
dvd/cd rw
card reader

Two other minor questions:
-on starting the rear exhaust case fan and cpu fan both start (both plugged directly into case)
BUT the other three fans (1 stock, 2 that I installed) don't. They are controlled by the stock fan controller which is set to medium.

-my monitor works fine via the dvi cable. But if i try it via hdmi i get no picture and a message "no dvi signal"

help!
xfi xtreme audio soundcard

More about : build completely stuck

a b Ĉ ASUS
a c 435 V Motherboard
October 28, 2011 11:04:16 PM