ATI HD 5850 no display

Status
Not open for further replies.

jimboy77

Distinguished
Oct 6, 2010
Hi all,

I am going nuts over this problem. I am far from an expert but I should know enough to build my own PC...

So, last week I built one and it works fine until I plug in the graphics card which gives me no display whatsoever. I have seen similar threads on forums but none of them seem to be exactly the same as my problem.

CPU: AMD AM3 Phenom II 965 Black
M/B: ASUS M4A88TD-M EVO USB3
RAM: 4GB DDR-3 1333
PSU: Coolermaster Extreme Power Plus 650 Watt
O/S: Win 7 64 Bit

Graphics: Gigabyte 1GB HD 5850

1) I built the system and ran all the driver updates from the enclosed disc. I changed the BIOS graphics boot to check PCI-E first.

2) As soon as I plug power into my 5850 I get no display at all. No boot up visuals or anything. I know it is booting up because I can hear it and all the lights are on. Also, the fans are moving on the card. In this situation, even if I plug the vga cable into the internal card slot I get no display.

3) I power off and disconnect the power to the card. Reboot and I have my display back on the internal card again. I spend a lot of time trying to update drivers and checking anything I can think of.

4) Give up, go back to shop. They test the 5850 and it is fine. They check out my PC and upgrade the BIOS which is a step I missed. Apparently 5850 works fine now.

5) I get home and fire up the PC and the 5850 works. Awesome!! So I think I wonder if they have updated it to the latest driver?

6) I go to the AMD/ATI site and run the Catalyst utility to update the drivers. Halfway through this process, the monitor goes blank. The PC is still on, just no freaking display again. Cr@p.

7) Unplug power from 5850, fire up the trusty internal VGA. Download the latest BIOS from the ASUS site and flash it. Check 5850 again. Nothing.