New Custom Build Freeze problem

noobpcbuild

Distinguished
Nov 30, 2010
Hi Everyone
I am new to the business of building PC but generally I am quite capable of handling PC hardware issues. I recently decided to build a PC for home entertainment and bit of gaming
Here are the components I used for the build
Intel Corei7 3 GHz
Asus P6TSE motherboard
GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 RAM 4GBx2
ATI Radeon HD 5770 1 GB GPU
Corsair 950W Power supply
Sony Optriac DVD RW optical drive
OCZ Solid State 3.5" 120 GB hard drive
Corsair H7O Cooling system

The problem I am having is with freezing of the system. I tried installing windows 64 bit which froze at different times - sometimes during install but at other times if proceeded and then freezes randomly while booting into windows and other times after having started windows.

I read the forum re similar issues people had and have done tests including memtest 86 which revealed no errors, tried booting with single ram module alternately which made no difference. Ran checkdsk for the hard drive and no errors found. Even disconnected the optical drive after install to see if that was the cause with no change in freezing. Tried swapping the GPU with an old Nvidia graphics card but that did not seem compatible and no video output.
Checked the voltages and temp of the CPU which has always been below 40 degree.
Now the situation is I am unable to boot into Windows, it just freezes at the logo and if I restart and it gives option to repair start up and I chose that, the start up repair freezes as well.
Now running out of ideas. The motherboard speaker is connected and it gives only 1 beep which according to my mb guide is when it detects a vdu and it seems to correspond to the monitor coming on, no other fault beeps heard, not had a BSOD as well.
Can someone point me in the right direction, where to go from here?

Is their a bootable disc or usb option to test my hardware further?

I would appreciate any help

Thanks

Allen

Solution