I have a desktop computer with the following config:

- Intel i5 3.3GHZ
- Asus P8P67 Pro motherboard (B3)
- Geforce GTX 275
- Creative Sound Card
- 4 GB RAM
- Windows 7 (64-bit)
- 2 TB HDD
- Cooler Master PSU (forgetting model no.)

I have been using my pc for close to eight months and have had no problems so far. I have played numerious games and things have been good.

Yesterday at night I was just browsing the web when my pc hung up. I was surprised. But after I tried to reboot things went haywire.

After powering off and on, the system would shut off for a few seconds and then turn on again and then bios gave an error message "overclocking failed, please check bios setting (something)". I have not overclocked my pc. After getting into bios if I get out, windows 7 would start booting but in 2 seconds my pc would stop responding.

Later my pc failed to bootup, nothing happens on screen. In the motherboard, the red light CPU Indicator would be on all the time. I am puzzled, what should I do ? Sometimes it does boot but after giving overclock error, when windows boots it hangs instantly. I tried cleaning up the ram etc but no success.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Jack

More about : p8p67 pro boot problem

October 31, 2011 11:14:58 AM

Did you try to reset the bios by removing the battery of the MoBo for a few minutes (disconnect power to the PC before you do it)?
m
l

Best solution

a b Ĉ ASUS
a b V Motherboard
October 31, 2011 11:21:32 AM

My first guess is that the PSU isn't supplying enough voltage to your CPU (just a guess at this point). It's possible that the mobo is draging down the voltage in the circuitry of the CPU, but yet again just a guess at this point.

There a couple of things you can do to try and isolate your issue(s):

* Pull the CMOS Battery and replace it and see if that helps.