John_Doe823

Distinguished
Dec 1, 2010
Major overhall of my original post with new knowledge.

First, to let you know, I am Canadian, so extra cost, lower selection etc.

This build is primarily goiing to be for day to day mucking about, but I want to be able to run a dual monitor set-up with a Blu-Ray on one screen, web browser on the other, and probably a few background apps in the background (downloads, whatever). I would also like to play some games like Diablo II and III (when it comes out) at good settings.

With these requirements in mind, and the fact that I've never built a computer before, I am unlikely to OC, or CF, but the option isn't bad.

I currently have an external hard-drive in an enclosure, which I may put inside the case. I may rip the hdd out of my laptop and install it as well, and if I've got the budget I will be buying a 1TB drive as well.

Probably buying as many of my parts from Canada Computers as I can pick the parts up on location rather than paying for shipping and having to wait. Also making purchases during boxing day/year end sales.

Parts I'm pretty much set on:

RAM: G.Skill RipJaws 4GB (2x 2) ($50)
CPU: AMD Athlon II x4 640 ($105)
Optical Drive: BD-ROM/DVD RW: Samsung SH-B123 ($95)
HDD: 1Tb Hitachi (0F10383) ($55)
Fan controller: NZXT Sentry 2 ($37, possible present from gf) (I know I don't neccessarily need one, but with forner overheat issues, I like the idea)
Case: I have an old ATX case, but hoping to have the budget for a CM Scout case. (not avail. at CC, NewEgg.ca: $107)

GPU: Debating between these 2:

Sapphire Radeon HD5770 1GB ($160)
EVGA GTS 450 FPB 1024 MB ($105)

I was set on the HD5770, but if the GTS 450 will work, and it should fulfill my requirements, then I should be able to take the money saved towards other parts of the build (case, monitor, etc).

Mobo's on the short list atm:

$56 BIOSTAR A770E3* (CC)
$77 ASRock M3A770DE (supports CF)
$85 Biostar TA790GXE*
$105 Asus M4A79XTD EVO (suports CF) (CC)