Please review fsx build

ravenous09

Distinguished
Dec 2, 2010
I'm not a gamer or a computer guy, but I need to build a system that runs fsx fairly well. I'm a recent private pilot that wants to get some use out of my flight simulator. I may add some flight games like IL2 or black shark, but really the simulator will almost exclusively be the only thing that I use this computer for.

I don't have a set budget in mind, but I'm looking to spend as little as possible while still having enough performance that I won't have a stuttering/frozen screen on moderate settings (like I did when I tried to run fsx on my laptop).

I don't think that I need to try to max out the settings or worry about the difference between a few fps to be satisfied.

Here is what I have chosen based on my research from the other threads.

CPU - AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE 3.4GHz - $160
MOBO - Asus M4A79XTD EVO - $99
RAM - Corsair Dominator 4GB (2 x 2GB) SDRAM DDR3 1600 - $90
GPU - EVGA Nvidia GeForce GTX 460 (Fermi) Superclocked EE 1GB 256-bit - $190
HDD - Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB - $70
PSU - Corsair 500w - $50
Case - NZXT M59 - $50

Again, I am NOT a computer guy and am really out of my element here so please let me know if all of these components will work together and if I'm making any obviously poor choices (or if I'm forgetting something important). Thanks so much for any and all input!

Oh, I picked the AMD over the i5 or i7 because I want to run 2 monitors and read that AMD was best for that even though fsx generally prefers intel....please let me know if that is true.

ravenous09

Distinguished
Dec 2, 2010

Thanks for the pointers.

Is there no validity to what this poster wrote about the CPU in relation to the number of monitors? (posted below)......and if not, should I look at getting the i5 instead or is the AMD (4 or 6 core) good enough for my purposes?

Reply to 49ers2352 Add to the list of quoted messages
jleboff 09-22-2010 at 08:43:23 PM | BBCode | Report

Newcomer
More Information