Sign in with
Your question

How to get best BANG/BUCK when building a comp

Last response: in Systems
December 3, 2010 3:11:31 PM

I’m relatively new to computer building, but I’ve learned a lot already and I wanted to give a quick summary of advice to new builders

My assumption with this is that you want the most bang for the buck, while meeting a certain performance level. If you build to just have bragging rights / benchmark queen, then all this is NA

Some general notes and stuff ive learned:

CPU: INTEL VS AMD
Don’t be a fanboy, look at CPU benchmarks for programs you will actually be using. Some AMD chips are a better bang/buck than Intel for certain applications, and some Intel are better bang/buck than AMD for certain applications. And it changes from year to year.
The question is NOT "which is better, AMD or Intel"
The question is "what is the chip that gives me the best bang/buck this year while meeting my goals"
If it’s AMD, then great. If it’s Intel, then great. It will all probably change next year.
By not sticking with one or the other, you allow a wider range of options to always get the best bang/buck

CPU COMPARISON – COMPARE OC’d CPU’S
Try to compare similar chips at their max overclock ratings (on similar air cooling) to make a fair comparison.
For example, some AMD chips come out with a higher factory “overclock” than Intel.
So for example an AMD chip might be set at 3.2Ghz, but it can only reach a max overclock of 4.0Ghz. So it is only .8ghz from its max OC
An Intel chip, like the i7 series, might be set at 2.66, but can OC to 4.2Ghz. You are 1.5Ghz below the max OC. So the net effect is that the AMD chip came “pre overclocked”, and you need to take this into account when comparing the chips.
You do this by comparing them at their peak OC settings (even if you aren’t going to run it OC’d), to find the best bang/buck