First build- few questions

tombstone07

Distinguished
Feb 28, 2011
Hello all. First off this is my first build. Had a small nightmare with Windows (tried dragging an upgraded version from a previous PC and didnt work- had to do clean install. So I am up and running and really have 2 questions:
1: my temps on my CPU in BIOS reads CPU- 38 C/100F then Mobo 28 C/82F- am i supposed to freak out on the "F" number or remain calm going by the C number? (Forgive my ignorance)- CoreTemp shows idle 33-35C and underload as high as 47C

2: RAM- I was BSOD several times and adjusted the BIOS to read 1333 and upped voltage to 1.5 (was at 1.32): was I right in doing this? have not blue screened since. The timing settings also dont reflect the timing sticker on the ram- should I be concerned to make adjustments?

Thanks!

Build:
M4A77TD Asus mobo
Phenom II X4 3.4ghz
4gig AData 1333G series RAM
Xigmatek Loki SD963 cooler
XFX Radeon HD5670
Case is an Antec 300- 3 120mm intake/ 1 140mm & 1 120mm exhaust
Hec Compcase 575watt PSU

1. You shouldn't freak at either set of temps -- those are all quite normal.

2. Unless you bought specific low-voltage RAM (1.35v) then it should be set at 1.5v spec if that's what the RAM is rated at. You should adjust the timings in the BIOS to whatever the label says.

tombstone07

Distinguished
Feb 28, 2011
Thanks- as for the RAM it isnt low voltage but my mobo auto set that amount- here it is:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820211410&Tpk=1333g

as for setting the timing (this is the one part I am leery on)- if its 8-8-8-24 when i go to the BIOS screen and find the Ram settings- the numbers listed straight down shoud be this order? do I leave any additional number settings alone? (the "timing" number seems longer on the BIOS screen- again forgive my ignorance. Goggled my brains out on this and just cant get an understandable procedure.

Thanks again!