Sign in with
Your question

Extra SATA power (??)

Last response: in Components
March 1, 2011 1:27:16 AM

Hi,

I am new to this and built a my first computer in 15 years last year. I will now be building another computer and turning this one RAID server. The computer has a 500W (maybe 450W?) Seasonic S12 II 80+ Bronze power supply.

I will be running 7 SATA devices (x6 HDDs and x1 optical drive). There are only x6 SATA connectors from the powersupply. Is it possible to get an adaptor to convert one of the left over connectors (e.g. one of the peripheral connectors?).

Also, the PCI E x16 connector has a 6 (unit/hole?) connector and another two that hangs off the side. Is this for connecting for certain devices? The graphics card I installed didn't seem to have space for the extra connector. Do some?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks.

More about : extra sata power

March 1, 2011 2:01:29 AM

The pci E power is probably a 6+2 connector for using on higher power video cards.
Some use an 8pin this way its set up to use for 6 or 8 pin. Some video cards us 2 6 pins or 1 6pin and 1 8 pin. Just some info for your connector question.
Related resources
March 1, 2011 2:02:07 AM

The pci E power is probably a 6+2 connector for using on higher power video cards.
Some use an 8pin this way its set up to use for 6 or 8 pin. Some video cards us 2 6 pins or 1 6pin and 1 8 pin. Just some info for your connector question.
a c 124 ) Power supply
March 1, 2011 2:02:39 AM

Bigger power draw cards use the PCI-E connectors and are 12 volt.

SATA power cables support three voltages. Pins 1 to 3 support 3.3V, the 7th through 9th terminals handle 5V and the final three pins transfer 12V. The 4 to 6 and 10 to 12 pins are exclusively for grounding. One pin in each group is longer than the rest to limit the inrush current during hot-swapping. The support for lower voltage enables energy efficient devices to function with less electrical waste.

Read this: