Sign in with
Your question

Need suggestions on what mobo to buy

Last response: in Motherboards
November 4, 2011 12:29:56 PM

Been going around forums asking for help on this topic so now that i have a clearer idea of what i want i thought i should make another thread.

Ive decided i want to get a new motherboard and possibly another GTX 590 gpu.
I have a Cooler Master HAF ATX Mid Tower Case that im gonna be using for this new build.

I wound up buying two GTX 590s because i was in a rush to spend the money i had. Due to my situation my money comes and goes, and if i dont spend it, itll dissappear. Im thinking of purchasing a 3rd card just so i dont have to buy new GPUs for a while.

Ive got at least 2-3 grand to spend on parts right now and have decided a mobo is where i should start.
I currently i have an intel core i7 950 in the desktop im using right now. Its being cooled by a Corsair H60 cooling system.
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002A6G3V2
I also purchased a Corsair AX 1200 and im hoping its enough to power everything i need.

As for picking a mobo i have a few problems. Im not sure whether i should try the water cooling route or just getting new parts and later on upgrading to a water cooling setup. Can someone help me out with this or link me to a super newb guide for water cooling? I was also told i should get a 1155 socket mother board so i can get a sandy bridge cpu and upgrade to the ivy bridge later. And i was also told not to get a 1155 socket and instead opt for a 2011 socket so my video cards have a dedicated x16 slot for each card. All of this is far too confusing so i wanna make sure im not bottle necking anything when i decide on a mobo.

I also am confused because i was told 2 590s would run a 3 monitor 120hz 120 fps per monitor full nvidia surround 3d setup, but then i was told i need a video card dedicated to each monitor, and i dont know what is true and what isnt.