SERIOUSLY IN NEED OF HELP GETTING FRUSTRATED

matt101

Distinguished
May 19, 2010
Hi guys I have had my system built for about 2 months now and I am getting a really annoying problem upon start up. Upon start up my network manager (in windows 7) seems to lock up, my icons disappear from the desktop and the task bar for a few seconds and then they reappear after a few seconds. After this happens everything works as normal but is getting to be an annoyance and I REALLY need to get it fixed.

My set-up is as follows:
AMD x4 955 @ 3.2 (stock)
ASYS M4A785-TD EVO mobo
asus gtx 470 1280mb v2
4gb ddr3
xfx 650w xxx edition psu
500gb western digital 7,200 rpm hdd

I am pretty sure it isn't my GPU as I previously has a hd 5770 and have upgraded to the gtx 470 and still have the same problem. I have tried disabling all start-up apps and still no joy.

I think it's a driver issue maybe? But I am no expert that's why I'm asking here, what should I do next to find out what the problem is?

daygall

Distinguished
Oct 17, 2009
you mean the screen flashes on login and all your icons disappear and reappear?

so the screen blinks your icons vanish the screen then goes black and then everything comes back again and works?

if so then thats just your GFX driver starting

you likely have custom settings setup some ware for your 3D rendering and or post boot OC to your card and the driver is implementing these on boot which is perfectly normal

my desktop is an ATI gfx card and it dose the same thing on boot, and my laptop is nvidia and it also dose the same thing

so if everything is working fine after the flash and nothing seams out of place then ya ill betcha its just your GFX driver enabling certain custom settings on boot

matt101

Distinguished
May 19, 2010