Sign in with
Your question

IS MY CPU TOO HOT?

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
March 2, 2011 10:38:56 PM

Here it goes,

Recently I've been obsessing over my CPU temp since this is my first build (kind of a cheap but it does the job). So i decided to download the program prime95 to do a 100% load test to see what I'm getting, within half an hour my CPU temperature reaches 71°c and my CPU core temperatures reach 61°c. Now i usually idle at 30°c CPU temp and 25°c CPU core temps. Is it normal for a build like mine to spike up that much? and do I need to buy a new heat sink and fan? my computer tasks consist of mainly web development(adobe suite cs5), and some COD black ops every day or two for a few hours

I'm using the stock AMD fan and heat sink and i applied arctic silver 5 thermal compound. I'm using CPUID Hardware monitor to view my temperatures. The computer sits on my desk.

MY system:

CPU: AMD Athlon II X4 640 3.0GHz SKT AM3 L2 2MB NO OVERLOCK
MB: Biostar N68S3
Ram: Kingston HyperX 4GB DDR3 PC3-12800 Dual Channel Kit
Power supply: Orion 850W ATX 12V 2.2
Case: Sentey CS1-1398 side 90mm fan sucking in air, rear 120mm fan blowing out.
Graphics card: asus 4870 dk 1gb (single 21 inch monitor)

Thanks in advance.

More about : cpu hot

a c 78 à CPUs
March 2, 2011 11:39:16 PM

For a stock fan... it is fine at those temps.

To decrease your LOAD temps, you will need to get an aftermarket cooler.
March 3, 2011 12:28:54 AM

Thanks for the reply, I guess an aftermarket heatsink is an inevitable choice.
Related resources
Can't find your answer ? Ask !
March 3, 2011 1:44:46 AM

Yes, as tecmo said, you would be much happier with aftermarket cooler!

if you want liquid cooler: Corsair H70 is a monster!
or
CoolerMaster V6 GT
CoolerMaster V8 Gaming CPU Cooling Fan
Thermaltake SpinQ Gaming CPU Cooling Fan
a b à CPUs
March 3, 2011 3:44:58 AM