Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Mac Pro 2007 Graphics Card Options

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
October 11, 2010 6:40:21 AM

Hi all, I'm new to the threads, but was hoping to get some help. My Mac Pro (late 2007) just had the graphics card crash (code 43 error that apparently means the graphics card has died). It has an 8800gt and I can no longer boot into mac, but can bootcamp into win7, but the graphics card is not functional (reinstalling drivers and what not doesn't fix anything).

I was hoping to get a replacement of some sort that was around $200 or less. I found an xfx hd-5770 but I am not sure if it is compatible in my mac pro. I've looked around and there are no clear cut answers. Apple has been useless about supporting/providing information about this, so maybe someone can give me some advice on this issue. If you have a better idea for a graphics card (I just want to be able to play SC-2 and MW2 - games like that, and be able to play games in the future without needing to upgrade again soon).

So, if you have any ideas I'd greatly appreciate it. I'm looking to purchase a card soon.

Thanks!
October 11, 2010 6:45:39 AM

the xfx hd-5770 will work with your mac pro,

A mac is mearly a PC with a different OS.

Macs are comparable to prebuilt PCs like Dell.

They contain mostly generic brand parts.

The only thing that would keep you from being able to use the card is if your PSU is not good enough...

Or does not have the right cords..

But I really would suggest the GTX 460 1g version if your going to be gaming.
Score
October 11, 2010 7:08:18 AM

Thank you so much for the quick reply. The only reason I am hesitant about 'mac compatible' graphics cards is that the apple website is really sketchy about available cards. For example they have 'upgrade kits' (http://store.apple.com/us/product/MC742ZM/A?mco=MTg3MjI...) that are 250 dollars, but I found the HD 5770 for $150: